Uncategorized

Tutorial Tuesday- Paper Piecing

How’s everyone’s day going? It’s been a sunny few days here and it’s feeling like spring ☀️.   

The technique I’m showcasing today is paper piecing.   This is a technique I loved to do with fabric to make intricate designs.   A few things I love about this technique is that you can use up scraps and it’s a fun way to put together two pieces of paper.  

Items needed:
Country Living stamp set for the  guitar

Guy Greetings stamp set for the happy birthday 

Paper snips 

DSP base of guitar 2″ x 3 1/2″       (I used Marina Mist in the Subtles Color Collection Designer Series Paper Stack)

Soft suede handle 2″ x 3 1/2″

Card Base Delightful Dijon 8 1/2″ x 5 1/2″

First layer 3 7/8″ x 5 1/8″soft suede 

Second layer 3 3/4″ x 5″whisper white 

Inside card 3 7/8″ x 5 1/8″

Black Archival Ink

Soft Suede Ink
Step 1.  

The first step is to stamp one of the guitars on the brown scrap and the Designer Series Paper (DSP).  I used black archival ink for this step.   
Step 2

This is the step that’s important to take your time with.  Make sure you have a sharp pair of fine tip paper snips.  I want my handle (Neck and Truss Rod) and the bridge to be pieced.  As seen below, I trimmed very close to the line that has been stamped.  

When getting to the bridge it’s important to just use the tips of the scissors. This allows for a clean small cut.  

Step 3

Two little snips left and we can piece our guitar together.   I trimmed the curve of the upper circle and the lower circle.  If you want you could go a tad bit lower still and just cut out the base.    

Step 4

Now we adhere the pieces on top of our guitar.  I began at the circle and worked my way to the top of the handle while placing it on my guitar.  Mine isnt perfectly matched up but once it’s all glued down I trim the excess off the back of the designer series paper. My guitar is all ready to set aside. 

Step 5

Now it’s time to create our card front.  I center the piece of whisper white and ahere it to the piece of soft suede card stock.  

Next, I played with the placement of the guitar and decided that to my eye it looked better on the right hand side at an angle.  

I then stamped my greeting on the left hand side of the card front in soft suede.  I also stamped a guitar on the inside piece of cardstock with the soft suede ink.  

Adhere the card front to the card base and the inside to the card inside. You have a great card that is ready for either male or female of any age.   Add an iTunes card or  a Google Play card and they are on their way to happy tunes🎶🎵

I’d love to see your creations shared that you made from this tutorial technique.  Please post them to my Facebook  at http://www.facebook.com/cardalatte

-Heather 

Leave a Reply

