Uncategorized

Tutorial Tuesday-Water Coloring 

Hoppy Tuesday Everyone
It’s finally beginning to feel a bit like Spring here in Upstate New York.  The birds are chirping, the sun is shining and the mud is drying out.  It’s a perfect time since Easter is this Sunday.   

Today’s tutorial is a quick project you can make to give to a specially little bunny or friend. 

Items needed:

Chocolate Chip Cardstock

Whisper White Thick Cardstock

Re-inkers

StazOn Ink 

StazOn Cleaner

Basket Bunch Bundle

Aqua Painters

Big Shot 

Fast Fuse

Stampin Dimensionals

Paper towels 
Steps:

1.  The first step is to stamp. We need to use the basket and handle and stamp on our chocolate chip Cardstock.  Next we want to use the four single eggs that are larger and stamp.  The ink we need to stamp with is the StazOn ink because it’s a permanent ink and when we add the water it will not run or smear.   

Please note since we are using polymer stamps with this set that we want to be super careful about taking the extra time to clean our stamps good.  I use the StazOn cleaner and rub it over the stamp. Then I use my Scrubbin Pad and use the Stamp N Mist cleaner on it and clean and dry the stamps.   But this isn’t where I stop with this process.  Next I take my stamps and if they are little like the eggs are, I leave them on the block, over to my sink.  I wash the stamps gently with some dish soap and water by rubbing it over with my fingers.  I then take a clean paper towel and pat my stamps dry 

2.   Our next step is to water color our eggs. This is the fun part!!!  To allow our ink to dry a bit more, I fill up my aqua painter with water now.  I use room temperature tap water and unscrew the top and fill only to the line.   

I now want to use my Re-Inkers and add one drop to a surface that won’t absorb my ink.  Today I used a embellishment lid, but you could use the inside lid to your Stamp Pads.  Today I am using  Wisteria Wonder, Pink Piroutte and Pool Party. 

3.   We are ready to color now:)  I make sure I have my paper towel near by as I need to test the amount of water it has.  I gently squeeze the barrel of the aqua painter to have the water flow into the tip.  Since we are coloring small detailed designs we want our brushes to be semi-dry.  I use my paper towel to soak up some of the water from the tip.  Now that my aqua painter is set and ready to go I can pick up a small amount of ink.  I start from the lightest color and work to the darkest.  ​As you can see in the video below, the polka dot egg has to much water on the brush and needed to remove more water from it.    Continue to color all of your eggs.   If you want the color to be darker just go back over the image again.  

4.  Now using our Big Shot, which is a great item to earn 1/2 off with hostess rewards, we cut out our handle, basket and eggs.  

5.  To finish the basket, I am using fast fuse, my favorite adhesive.    I add a strip of fast fuse along the top back side of the basket and check it off to break the adhesive.  Be sure to check and see if your handle needs to be trimmed a little bit to fit on your jar lid.  If it does just use a pair of paper snips and trim it down.   I place the edges of the handles on the edge of the basket top.  Then I build up my eggs into three rows adding adhesive where needed.  

6.   Now it’s time to add some depth to the project and finish it off.  I used Stampin Dimensions to add heigh to my basket of eggs on the lid of my mason jar.  For the handle I used a pair of snips and cut my dimmentional in half and then trimmed it down after adhering to the handle.  Peel off the paper backings and adhere your basket of water colored eggs to your jar top. 
I hope you enjoyed Water Coloring with me today and if you have any questions/comments please add them to the comments.   I’d love to see your finished products. 

Happy Easter and Hoppy Water Coloring

Heather 

Leave a Reply

